A Paddle Down the Petaluma River

Hubby and I went for a short kayak trip on the Petaluma River yesterday. I was paddling a new-to-me Eddyline Equinox.

You see, hubby has an Eddyline Fathom. It is red, sleek, and fast. I don’t have anything; which means I have to rent. Invariably, I end up with a clunky sit-on-top (my husband calls them ‘tupperware’) or a rental-quality sit-in (think, slightly better tupperware). These are super slow. Hubby is always moderating his pace to wait for me, and I am always playing catch up. Also, I stop every few strokes to take a picture. And to top it off, he’s just a faster paddler.

But yesterday was an exception. Well, not really, he was still faster than me. And though I was still renting, I am committing to the sport and looking to buy a kayak, so I tried a fancy one: the Eddyline Equinox.

I won’t bore you with all the specifications on the Equinox. I liked it, but not enough to buy it. I’m still on the look out for a kayak that is just right for me. It was, however, a suitably bright yellow. Here are some of the shots I managed to take while on the river. Enjoy.

Put in near downtown Petaluma. Barges and big boats keep up company. That's hubby way off in front of me!
Put in near downtown Petaluma. Barges and tug boats keep us company. That’s hubby way off in front of me!
Passing under Highway 101 and coming up to the swivel train bridge.
Passing under Highway 101 and coming up to the swivel train bridge on the left.
Not a sharp shot, but those are a family of American Coots (Fulica americana).
Not a sharp shot, but those are a family of American Coots (Fulica americana).
This Red Tailed Hawk (Buteo jamaicensis) was so busy hunting, he failed to heed the sign.
This Red Tailed Hawk (Buteo jamaicensis) was so busy hunting, he failed to heed the sign.
Lots of big machinery on the river, like this big crane.
Lots of big machinery on the river, like this big crane.
On the way back, I got another shot of the swivel bridge for the train. Would have been cool to have seen it in action.
On the way back, I got another shot of the swivel bridge for the train. Would have been cool to have seen it in action.
And here's my best shot of the day.
And here’s my best shot of the day – hubby!

 

4 thoughts on “A Paddle Down the Petaluma River

Leave a Reply

