January Tracks

This year, I am participating in Cardinal Guzman’s The Changing Seasons monthly challenge.

Initially, I had thought I would do the exact same photo each month. The photo was going to be of where I live and because we live on a vineyard, the idea was that we would see the changing seasons via the differences in the photo location from month to month.

I’m still going to do that, but after reviewing the rules of the 2016 challenge, I realized I could only pick ONE photo that represented each month – to me. I realized that I didn’t want to show the same (damn) photo each month, even if it would be showing the vineyard at different stages.

So, I’ll post that particular vineyard photo at the end of this post, but the photo I choose for the challenge is the one presented below:

2016-01-25 (9)

Yup, those are critter tracks in mud.

In Santa Rosa, the rainy season is supposed to start in October or November, but this year it didn’t really come until late December-early January. But once it came, it brought out all the critters. Or, more accurately, it brought mud which meant I could see where the critters had roamed. They often walk the same trails I do, so it is always fun to see a raccoon and it’s baby make their way across a field or see which neighbors are walking their dog. Below is a collage of other tracks I shot including my dog’s!

If you would like to participate in this challenge, here are the rules:


Here are the rules for the new, updated version of The Changing Seasons (The Changing Seasons V2):

  • Tag your posts with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons
  • Each month, post one photo (recipe, painting, drawing, whatever) that represents your interpretation of the month.
  • Don’t use archive stuff. Only new material!

Oh, and here’s that vineyard shot I’ll take every month this year:

2016-01-23 (11)

Related Posts:

12 thoughts on “January Tracks

  1. Thank you for the link!

    I’m always fascinated by the print marks I see on the trail when I’m hiking, but I never know what I’m looking at. I was surprised by the raccoon prints … they look remarkably human.

    Looking forward to seeing your changes seasons πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, Joanne. πŸ™‚

      When I was a kid, my grandmother had a pet raccoon (more wild than pet). It was fascinating to watch her wash her food in her water bowl with her little “hands”.

Leave a Reply

